Lessons

The Wisdom Within Each Moment

New Lessons – Workout Buddy

Leave a comment

Most people do not believe in things they can’t see or imagine. If they need a job, they can’t imagine where it will come from. If they want a partner in life and don’t know anyone suitable, they believe there is no one available. For every problem they have, they expect the solution to be something they already know – as if there isn’t anything other than that. These people obviously don’t live with a Siamese cat. Siamese cats are very special for a lot of reasons. For one thing, they have no inkling of a finite Universe. If they persist enough, there is nothing they cannot have. If they have a personality like my Thai, that persistence become manic behavior, not to be ignored, which includes pacing and screaming at the top of his lungs. But I’m getting ahead of myself. Let me go back a bit. Before Thai was even born, I began doing exercises in my basement. I wanted to work on strength training and flexibility. It went okay at first but like many things we start, it became harder and harder to commit to my daily routine. I often said that I wished I knew somebody who would want to work out with me. It would be great to have someone who would encourage me to exercise.  But I couldn’t think of anyone, so I assumed there wasn’t anyone. In the meantime, this loud, squirmy ball of fur came to live with us.  The first couple of years were spent in perpetual motion – running and playing. Eventually though as he got a little older, Thai realized that there were others living in the house with him.  He became a little interested in what we were doing. I don’t even remember the first day he showed up during my exercises. He was just curious at first, but he liked it that mommy was down on the floor at his level. He was mostly a nuisance.  I had to maneuver around him and he was always in the way. Slowly over the years though, he has gotten into the rhythm of what I am doing. He runs to the room as soon as he hears my video begin, sits patiently during warm-ups and goes nuts when I finally roll out my floor mat. He throws his body down next to me for multiple tummy rubs so I have learned to incorporate tummy rubs into my routine. Lately while I ride my exercise bike, he climbs up the front wheel into my arms. Eventually I scoot him over to his bed, on the chair nearby. I usually work out around the same time most days. If I’m late, Thai begins his pacing and screaming to let me know what time it is. I wouldn’t have, couldn’t have imagined that the best work out buddy ever would be a Siamese cat. He makes sure I exercise every day, distracts me from, well exercising and I get kitty kisses as a bonus. What more could I ask for?

Teresa Sue McAdams, co-creator of “Today’s Journey Tarot”, co-author of “Today’s Journey Tarot, A Traveler’s Guide”, co-author of “Tarot Meditations, A Journal for Self Discovery”, and author of “Lessons, The Wisdom Within Each Moment”

20170516_124017

Author: Lessons: The Wisdom Within Each Moment

Teresa Sue McAdams’ articles have appeared in various newsletters, publications and blogs. Her book, “Lessons: The Wisdom Within Each Moment” was published in 2012. She teaches classes on meditation, spirituality and tai chi and has been an intuitive counselor for over thirty five years. Teresa’s undergraduate work was in journalism and psychology and she earned a doctorate in 2006. She has sought answers all of her life and sometimes sees them in every ordinary moment. Teresa lives across the river from Louisville, Kentucky with her husband, Ben and three cat friends, Thai, Lily, and Melody.

Leave a Reply

