Lessons

The Wisdom Within Each Moment

New Lessons – Lily’s New Seat

Leave a comment

Our kitty friend, Lily is almost seven years old.  Over those years she has chosen her territory in the house; where she likes to sleep, which window she prefers to look out, and the food bowl and litter box she chooses to use. Being a Taurus, she is rather consistent in her preferences and doesn’t like her routine changed in any way. For almost thirty years, I have sat on the left side of the couch. I don’t know why I chose it to begin with, but no other location offers the same relaxation and convenience to me. A few months ago I noticed Lily sitting in front of the couch and staring at me while I enjoyed my usual comfy spot. This was not her way. She usually slept on the foot stool or snuggled in beside my husband, Ben. It was a bit unnerving having her stare at me like that. After several evenings of this, I mentioned it to Ben. He had noticed that as soon as I got up to go to bed, Lily curled up in my spot. (I am always the first one to leave the couch.) For the life of me I couldn’t figure this out. Why the change in behavior? It only got worse. Instead of just sitting and staring, she began approaching the couch and scolding me, clearly wanting me to move. Since I adamantly believe cats should be indulged in all things, I finally moved over to the center of the couch. Lily triumphantly sprung to my old spot. There are definitely disadvantages sitting there. It is not as easy to reach the side table, where my phone, glasses, TV guide, and glass of water are, but I can reach them. The other side of the couch belongs to Ben and I would hate to uproot him too. It’s not awful sitting in the center though. It offers a little different perspective of the room and I am square in front of the TV. The big plus is a warm, purring kitty by my side with her feet pushing against my leg. Maybe I should have changed seats sooner.

Teresa Sue McAdams, co-creator of “Today’s Journey Tarot”, co-author of “Today’s Journey Tarot, A Traveler’s Guide”, co-author of “Tarot Meditations, A Journal for Self Discovery”, and author of “Lessons, The Wisdom Within Each Moment”

207073_275866779192673_1084971317_n

 

Author: Lessons: The Wisdom Within Each Moment

Teresa Sue McAdams’ articles have appeared in various newsletters, publications and blogs. Her book, “Lessons: The Wisdom Within Each Moment” was published in 2012. She teaches classes on meditation, spirituality and tai chi and has been an intuitive counselor for over thirty five years. Teresa’s undergraduate work was in journalism and psychology and she earned a doctorate in 2006. She has sought answers all of her life and sometimes sees them in every ordinary moment. Teresa lives across the river from Louisville, Kentucky with her husband, Ben and three cat friends, Thai, Lily, and Melody.

Leave a Reply

