Lessons

The Wisdom Within Each Moment

Magic – New Blog

Leave a comment

Some time ago a woman came to see me. I don’t remember how she got my name. We must have had an acquaintance in common.  She said wanted to talk to someone about metaphysics.  On the phone, as I remember, she was cordial and seemed sincere. So I agreed to meet with her and answer whatever questions I could. Or at least steer her in the right direction, depending on her interests. We met at my house, in my office. She wasn’t here but a few minutes before I began to suspect this was an inquisition. I learned long ago that arguing with someone about spiritualty is a pointless endeavor. No one’s mind is ever changed and why would I want to? What someone else believes is none of my business. So I remained courteous and vague and tried to get through the meeting. Finally at one point she pointed to my bookcase and shrieked, “you even have a book on magic right here”! What? I looked where she was pointing and sure enough there was a book with large letters that said “Magic” right down the spine.  After a few moments of shock, I muttered that she was pointing to a cookbook! She made a hasty retreat, clearly not believing me. Ok, we all know you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover, but in this case it was very literal. The book belonged to my mother-in-law. She collected cookbooks and we inherited quite a few after she died. The only magic associated with it was what she could do in the kitchen. Ordinary ingredients indeed turned into magical creations.  People are just too complex to make snap judgements about their character, but we do it all the time; by what they wear or have in their possession, where the live, how they talk or what they believe and especially their ethnicity.  It’s not a good idea. If the book is never opened you will miss out on all the yummy treats inside.

Teresa Sue McAdams, co-creator of “Today’s Journey Tarot”, co-author of “Today’s Journey Tarot, A Traveler’s Guide”, co-author of “Tarot Meditations, A Journal for Self Discovery”, and author of “Lessons, The Wisdom Within Each Moment”

Author: Lessons: The Wisdom Within Each Moment

Teresa Sue McAdams’ articles have appeared in various newsletters, publications and blogs. Her book, “Lessons: The Wisdom Within Each Moment” was published in 2012. She teaches classes on meditation, spirituality and tai chi and has been an intuitive counselor for over thirty five years. Teresa’s undergraduate work was in journalism and psychology and she earned a doctorate in 2006. She has sought answers all of her life and sometimes sees them in every ordinary moment. Teresa lives across the river from Louisville, Kentucky with her husband, Ben and three cat friends, Thai, Lily, and Melody.

Leave a Reply

