Lessons

The Wisdom Within Each Moment

New Lessons: Melody’s Eccentricity

Leave a comment

I might as well come out and say it. Our beautiful kitty friend, Melody is different. I don’t know if she has always been this way or if it was something we did.  Since we’ve had her from babyhood, it must be our fault somehow. I don’t even know how it started.  One morning I was putting on my makeup at the bathroom mirror and felt some activity at my feet.  I looked down and Mel had her head stuck in the cabinet, licking the spilled toothpaste from the tray where it’s kept. She wasn’t going for the brushes (thank goodness for a lot of reasons), but was enjoying herself immensely with what had oozed out into the tray. I wipe the tray clean on a regular basis, but on this day, I confess I was a couple of days behind. I couldn’t believe it. I called Ben to witness the event and he admitted that he already knew her little secret. I guess he was just afraid to mention it, thinking like I was that there might be something wrong with Mel. Cats aren’t supposed to like toothpaste. I’ve known a lot of cats and never have any of them shown the slightest interest in it. What did this mean? What could it mean? Should I call a doctor? A kitty psychiatrist? I analyzed it carefully. It wasn’t a danger to her and as a plus, her breath was minty fresh. She only did it when the cabinet was already open so there was no demand on us to be constantly opening and closing the door. It made her happy and satisfied and she was sort of spending time with me instead of being off and aloof somewhere. It didn’t hurt anyone else.  So, Melody is different. She does something that maybe few, if any, other cats do. I just can’t see anything wrong with that.

Teresa Sue McAdams, co-creator of “Today’s Journey Tarot”, co-author of “Today’s Journey Tarot, A Traveler’s Guide”, co-author of “Tarot Meditations, A Journal for Self Discovery”, and author of “Lessons, The Wisdom Within Each Moment”

20170108_184903

Author: Lessons: The Wisdom Within Each Moment

Teresa Sue McAdams’ articles have appeared in various newsletters, publications and blogs. Her book, “Lessons: The Wisdom Within Each Moment” was published in 2012. She teaches classes on meditation, spirituality and tai chi and has been an intuitive counselor for over thirty five years. Teresa’s undergraduate work was in journalism and psychology and she earned a doctorate in 2006. She has sought answers all of her life and sometimes sees them in every ordinary moment. Teresa lives across the river from Louisville, Kentucky with her husband, Ben and three cat friends, Thai, Lily, and Melody.

Leave a Reply

