Lessons

The Wisdom Within Each Moment

Running Away With Puff

Leave a comment

My very first major adventure happened when I was just eighteen months old. My mother had been in the back yard, hanging up laundry and my older sisters and I were playing not far away. At some point, Mother went back into the house, telling my sisters to watch me. I don’t remember this of course. I have only been told. I don’t really know what happened. Neither did my mother or my sisters. Mother thought I was outside with my sisters. They either didn’t hear that they were to watch me or got distracted as kids will, or perhaps something more sinister – I don’t really know. They swore that they thought I was inside with my mother. Anyway, I had the opportunity to pick up our big yellow/orange tabby cat, Puff and take off out of the yard. I don’t know whose idea it was really. Maybe I was ready to get out of there or maybe Puff wanted to show me a bit of the neighborhood. However it was I was on my way. And wherever I was going, the one thing of value that I took along was a cat. A little while later Mother got a phone call from a woman who lived several blocks away. Mother didn’t really know her, although they went to the same church. She asked Mother if she was missing something. Mother didn’t have a clue what she was talking about at first. And then panic, mayhem, shouting, and hysteria quickly set in. Clothed only in a diaper, I had carried Puff (who was nearly the same size as me – I’ve seen pictures) down the street, through a busy intersection and on up the road. The woman just happened to be looking out her window and recognized me. My parents always told this as a cautionary tale to pay attention to what they told us. But I always suspected that my mother felt as guilty as she made my sisters feel. It is just so important to pay attention. You never know what might slip by (or toddle away carrying a big yellow cat) if you allow yourself to become complacent to what is going on around you. Evidently I was the only one that day that knew exactly what was going on. Me and Puff were hitting the road.

Teresa Sue McAdams, co-creator of “Today’s Journey Tarot”, co-author of “Today’s Journey Tarot, A Traveler’s Guide”, co-author of “Tarot Meditations, A Journal for Self Discovery”, and author of “Lessons, The Wisdom Within Each Moment”

Author: Lessons: The Wisdom Within Each Moment

Teresa Sue McAdams’ articles have appeared in various newsletters, publications and blogs. Her book, “Lessons: The Wisdom Within Each Moment” was published in 2012. She teaches classes on meditation, spirituality and tai chi and has been an intuitive counselor for over thirty five years. Teresa’s undergraduate work was in journalism and psychology and she earned a doctorate in 2006. She has sought answers all of her life and sometimes sees them in every ordinary moment. Teresa lives across the river from Louisville, Kentucky with her husband, Ben and three cat friends, Thai, Lily, and Melody.

Leave a Reply

